Your browser does not support JavaScript!


Tickets for this event are no longer available.

Monday, December 11, 2017 
Where: The Hope Center - 2001 W. Plano Pkwy, Plano, TX 75075

When:  7pm Awards Presentation preceded by 6pm Reception to honor all nominees. (Event will be taped and broadcast at a later date on CBS 11.

Pre-Presentation Reception (6pm) - $25 per person

Voting has ended

The Landry Award, named in memory of former Dallas Cowboys head coach Tom Landry, recognizes the top high school football player (any position, any division, any school) in North Texas. The award recipient is chosen by a voting panel of former coaches and players, members of the media and local leaders and is presented to the top player's school each December.

2017 Athletes Nominated for Landry Award 

Jalen Catalon – Mansfield Legacy (S/ATH)

Matt Gadek – McKinney (RB)

Byron “BJ” Hanspard – DeSoto (CB)

John Stephen Jones – Highland Park (QB)

Spencer Sanders – Denton Ryan (QB)

The Landry Award Coach of the Year will exemplify the Christian values that defined Tom Landry on and off the field and will be someone who encourages leadership, selflessness, maturity, respect and kindness.The award recipient is selected by the DFW FCA leadership and The Landry Award Committee. 

2017 Nominations for Landry Award Coach of the Year

Chad Cole - Frisco Reedy 

Mike Dewitt - Coppell 

Kirk Thor - Mansfield Lake Ridge 

Jason Tucker - Haltom 

Patrick Williams - Carter 


2017 Winners - Congratulations to John Stephen Jones, QB for Highland Park HS, on receiving the Landry Award and to Coach Mike Dewitt of Coppell High School on being named the Landry Award Coach of the Year!

Above Left: John Stephen Jones and his family;  Right: Coach Mike Dewitt accepting award from CBS 11's Bill Jones.

Coach Landry

One of the greatest icons of the game began his football legacy in Mission, Texas. As quarterback, Landry led his high school team to a 12-0 season in his senior year. After returning from duty as a bomber pilot, he attended the University of Texas. After graduating from Texas, Landry played professionally for the All-America Football Conference’s New York Yankees, and later the New York Giants. He played five years as a pro.

Of course, he is best known as the first head coach of the Dallas Cowboys, a position he held for 29 seasons, including a record 20 consecutive winning seasons. During this time, Landry coached America’s Team to five Super Bowl appearances, winning twice. He won 270 games, the third-most in NFL history. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Beyond the Xs and Os, Landry was known as a man of strong faith. He was an active supporter and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Greater Dallas Fellowship of Christian Athletes for 30 years, and he encouraged his players to demonstrate leadership on and off the field.