Your browser does not support JavaScript!

2017 Award Recipients

Linda Gibson - Female Huddle Coach of the Year
Pictured with FCA's Cory Largent, left 

Regis Andrez - Male Huddle Coach of the Year
Pictured with FCA's Ken Butler, left

Dave Crittenden - Neal Jeffrey Leadership Award
Pictured with Neal Jeffrey, left

Josie Camacho - Alicia Landry Coach's Wife Impact Award
Pictured with Carolyn Allen, right


 Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award

This Award was initiated in 1999 to honor Coach Landry’s legacy. It is given to recognize leaders of national renown who exemplify outstanding Christian character. Past honorees include Coach Dan Reeves, Bobby Bowden, Pat Williams, S. Truett Cathy, Roger Staubach, Dr. Kenneth Cooper, Dr. James and Shirley Dobson, Dr. Howard Hendricks, Coach Grant Teaff, Rev. Billy Graham and Coach Jim Myers, Coach Mike Singletary, Jim Daly and Tom Osborne.


2017 Recipient - Ernie Johnson, Jr. (View Acceptance Speech)

Presentation of Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award to Ernie Johnson, Jr. - (Pictured left to right are Neal Jeffrey,  FCA Board Chairman, Jim Sundberg, Ron Thulin, Ernie Johnson, Jr., North TX Mulit-Area Director, Rick Bowles)


Landry Award Honors

2017 Winners - Congratulations to John Stephen Jones, QB for Highland Park HS, on receiving the Landry Award and to Coach Mike Dewitt of Coppell High School on being named the Landry Award Coach of the Year!

Above Left: John Stephen Jones and his family;  Right: Coach Mike Dewitt accepting award from CBS 11's Bill Jones.

Above Left: Coach Mike Dewitt being interviewed by Bill Jones; Right: Bill Jones with all finalists. 

John Stephen Jones was selected to receive The Landry Award from a field of finalists who demonstrated both positive character and leadership attributes over the season. The remaining finalists were: Jalen Catalon (S, Mansfield Legacy), Matthew Gadek (RB, McKinney), Byron Hanspard II (CB, DeSoto) and Spencer Sanders (QB, Denton Ryan).

Coach Mike Dewitt was selected to receive The Landry Coach of the Year Award from the following field of finalists: Chad Cole (Frisco Reedy), Kirk Thor (Mansfield Lake Ridge), Jason Tucker (Haltom) and Patrick Williams (Dallas Carter).

LANDRY AWARD - Previous Winners:

2016 - Kennedy Brooks (Mansfield HS)
2015 - Jett Duffey (Mansfield Lake Ridge)
2014 - Kyler Murray (Allen)
2013 - Myles Garrett (Arlington Martin)

2012 - Jake Oliver (Jesuit)
2010 & 2011 - Johnathan Gray (Aledo)

LANDRY COACH OF THE YEAR - Previous Winners:

2016: Brian Brazil, Hebron
2015: Randy Jackson, Grapevine
2014: Randy Allen, Highland Park
2013: Joe McBride, Coppell

The Landry Award, named in memory of former Dallas Cowboys head coach Tom Landry, recognizes the top high school football player (any position, any division, any school) in North Texas. The award recipient is chosen by a voting panel of former coaches and players, members of the media and local leaders and is presented to the top player's school each December.

The Landry Award Coach of the Year will exemplify the Christian values that defined Tom Landry on and off the field and will be someone who encourages leadership, selflessness, maturity, respect and kindness. The award recipient is selected by the DFW FCA leadership and The Landry Award Committee. 

PAST AWARD WINNERS  (Presented at Sharing The Victory - Coaches Appreciation Dinner)

Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – Pat Williams
Female Huddle Coach – Julia Butler
Male Huddle Coach – Greg Reed  

Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – Bobby Bowden
Neal Jeffrey Award - John Clark
Female Huddle Coach – Anna Coulter
Male Huddle Coach – Justin Merchant  

Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – No recipient
Neal Jeffrey Award - Coach Randy Mayes
Female Huddle Coach – Sugar Estes
Male Huddle Coach – Jaroy Carpenter  

2012 Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – Dan Reeves
Neal Jeffrey Award - Mark Powell
Female Huddle Coach – Jennifer Clements
Male Huddle Coach – Chad Lawson  

Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – Mike Singletary
Neal Jeffrey Award - Kip Bledsoe
Female Huddle Coach – Nikki Gilley
Male Huddle Coach – Carlos Lynn  

Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – Jim Daly  
Neal Jeffrey Award - Gerald Brence  
Female Huddle Coach – Patricia Toothaker  
Male Huddle Coach – Keri Timmerman   

Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – Tom Osborne
Neal Jeffrey Award - Becky Hennesy
Female Huddle Coach – Traci Randermann
Male Huddle Coach – Marcus Eckert

Tom Landry Excellence of Character Award – No recipient
Alicia Landry Coach's Wife Impact Award - Carolyn Allen
Neal Jeffrey Award - Mark Biebighauser
Female Huddle Coach – Sue Husbands
Male Huddle Coach – Duran Collins

Male and Female Huddle Coach of the Year Awards - Presented to an outstanding leader/coach that has set the “bar high” and has taken personal ownership of leading and teaching students how to develop and lead an FCA huddle. One that has invested his/her time mentoring student athletes and encouraging them and others in their faith.

Neal Jeffrey Leadership Award - Neal Jeffrey is a pastor, author, speaker and former Baylor and NFL Quarterback. His dad, James, was a former President of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and Neal grew up seeing first-hand the impact of this ministry in his own life. As such, Neal has been a dedicated volunteer with FCA, and he and his wife, Sheila, have served in church ministry for many years. Like Neal Jeffrey, recipients of this award are men or women volunteers whose life and work exemplifies a similar commitment to being "servant leaders."

Alicia Landry Coach’s Wife Impact Award - For 51 years, Alicia Landry served alongside her husband, the legendary Coach Tom Landry. Today, she continues the legacy they began years ago with her involvement in and support of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. She is also the founder of the Lisa Landry Childress Foundation and has served on the Advisory Boards of Frost Bank as well as Baylor Hospital. In her family and in her community, Mrs. Landry is a class act and an inspiration to all. So we are excited to present this award in her honor to a deserving coach’s wife who epitomizes her qualities of grace, loyalty and Godly character.